Glad not to be needed

This morning was the Emerging Media Initiative Faculty Symposium at Ball State. I gave a very brief talk in the “research/education-related projects” session about my experiences teaching Android application development first with non-majors using App Inventor for Android and now with majors using the Android SDK. I think the talk went well, and I’ve received some nice feedback. It may be visible online, but it’s not working for me at the time of this writing.

The event was scheduled to go until 12:30, which is when my class starts. I agreed to be interviewed about the role of emerging media and the symposium, and so I knew I was going to be late to class. I notified my students, asking them to use it as “consulting time”: to work on their projects in teams, help other teams, and generally be productive.

The event and interview went longer than planned, and so I didn’t get to my class until 70-minutes into it, and it’s a 75-minute class. How wonderful to walk into the room and see all my teams sitting in groups getting work done! Thanks to these students for inspiring me with your diligence and dedication to your learning. It’s a great feeling to know that I have done my job: setting you up so that you can get it all done without me.

Leave a Reply

